“…A Riot is the Language of the Unheard.”

Is it just me, or has the world completely lost it’s ability to see the beauty and the value of human life?

I’ve tried for such a long time to stay ignorant to what is happening in the world, simply because it actually breaks my heart to hear about so many people dying every day, but then I realized that ignorance is never really a good thing. Once the riots in Baltimore started to break out, I decided to really dive into research on police brutality considering it was the biggest issue being talked about. When I started to read about the multiple cases of police shooting all of these innocent unarmed people, it really started to stir something up inside of me.

So many people are questioning why the riots are happening. I’ve heard so many things from “It’s so sad that they think violence will solve anything” all the way to “I don’t see the welfare offices in Baltimore burning to ground.” All of these comments have really started to irritate me. Can you imagine what the people rioting are actually feeling? Our country is losing trust in it’s law enforcement, and it’s not something that anyone should be okay with. Police are scared to walk up to a car’s window when they pull someone over out of fear of being shot, and the people being pulled over are afraid of the police officer gunning them down or beating them senseless for no reason. This should never even be an issue. Of course there will cases where police have to shoot someone, but it should be a last resort at all costs.

It is not enough for me to stand before you tonight and condemn riots. It would me morally irresponsible for me to do that without, at the same time, condemning the contingent, intolerable conditions that exist in our society. These conditions are the things that cause individuals to feel that they have no other alternative than to engage in violent rebellions to get attention. And I must say that a riot is the language of the unheard.

As most of you know, Martin Luther King Jr. said that beautiful quote. This is exactly my view on the situation. Though, when I tried to voice my opinion on Facebook, I actually had someone say that this quote was “stupid” and that when Martin Luther King Jr. was rallying there was no violence involved. Good God, people. That is probably one of the most ridiculous things I’ve ever heard in my life. The thing about this is, is that what is happening in the world and in Baltimore right now is history actually repeating itself.

All of these people going crazy and rioting feel that they have absolutely no other way to get their point across that something needs to change! Police brutality has always been an issue, but no one is doing anything about it. Everyone is looking down upon the people who are so hurt and so terrified that they feel the need to burn a city to the ground. I’m not sitting here condoning violence, by any means. For those of you who do not know me personally, I’m one of the most nonviolent people in the world. I’ve never been into a fight with anyone, and I hate confrontation. Even the thought of confrontation freaks me out, however, I am smart enough to recognize a problem, and I see a problem with our law enforcement.

What has our country turned into? We now live in a nation where police set up road blocks and force you to stop your vehicle when you have done nothing to deserve doing so. Do you guys realize how wrong that is? It’s unconstitutional. Yet if I were to go through a police check point, not roll down my window completely, and recite my rights as to why I do not have to do so, I would be arrested, searched, and maybe even beaten. It’s gotten to the point where police do not care about a citizens rights. This is exactly the reason that when/if I am every pulled over, I immediately pull out my cell phone to record every single thing that happens. Yes, you have absolutely every right to record your interactions with a police officer, and do not ever let them tell you that you don’t.

Our forefathers are probably turning over in their graves at what this nation has turned into, but no one seems to care. I would never go and be a part of a riot, but I can’t help to think that I would definitely want to go and be a part of the peaceful protesting that is also taking place. The media just doesn’t like to show that side of things. We need a movement of love and peace to sweep across the nation like it did when The Beatles were leading the nation with their music. We need a generation of people to stand up and protest what is right. We need a group of people to come together hand-in-hand and show the world that nothing is accomplished with violence. The only thing that we can do to fix this country is realize that there is value in human life. There is change in love! Not to be cliche or anything, but all you need is love. 

Stop judging people based on the color of their skin. Stop making people feel worthless because they had a child with a person of another race. We need to come together and realize that no matter someone’s race, they are a human beings. They are equal to you. They always have been, and they always will be.

Leave a Reply

